iDataAgent config

Last post 03-10-2015, 4:19 PM by ewhb. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • iDataAgent config
    Posted: 03-10-2015, 2:58 PM
    • ewhb is not online. Last active: 12-08-2015, 1:50 PM ewhb
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-26-2014
    • Mohawk College
    • Newcomer
    • Points 18

    Hello all,

    I have an Oracle Linux Virtual server that is backed up with the Commvault iDataAgent.  I recently cloned this server to new virtual server.  Is there a way to re-configure the iDataAgent with the new hostname and connect it and register it to the Commserve?  Or do I have to remove the software from the new linux host and re-install the software from the Commserv so this new linux server will be registered in the Commserv properly?

     

    Thanks,

    Eric.

  • Re: iDataAgent config
    Posted: 03-10-2015, 3:05 PM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 05-13-2019, 12:56 PM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,586

    Typically you'd want to uninstall the client, modify the client's name and host name in the GUI to reflect the change and then reinstall using the new information.

  • Re: iDataAgent config
    Posted: 03-10-2015, 4:10 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 05-20-2019, 11:53 AM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,655

    Take care when uninstalling the iDA from the cloned machine.   If it has network access it may deconfigure the original client in the CommServer.   Make sure that you perform a "LOCAL" uninstall of the agent, or take it off the network when uninstalling so that it can't reach/talk to the commserver.


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Senior Engineer III
    Development
  • Re: iDataAgent config
    Posted: 03-10-2015, 4:19 PM
    • ewhb is not online. Last active: 12-08-2015, 1:50 PM ewhb
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-26-2014
    • Mohawk College
    • Newcomer
    • Points 18

    thanks to all who replied.  I have removed the iDataAgent successfully (did a local uninstall) and then installed the software to the cloned server from the Commserv.

     

    thanks again,

     

    Eric.  :D

The content of the forums, threads and posts reflects the thoughts and opinions of each author, and does not represent the thoughts, opinions, plans or strategies of Commvault Systems, Inc. ("Commvault") and Commvault undertakes no obligation to update, correct or modify any statements made in this forum. Any and all third party links, statements, comments, or feedback posted to, or otherwise provided by this forum, thread or post are not affiliated with, nor endorsed by, Commvault.
Commvault, Commvault and logo, the “CV” logo, Commvault Systems, Solving Forward, SIM, Singular Information Management, Simpana, Commvault Galaxy, Unified Data Management, QiNetix, Quick Recovery, QR, CommNet, GridStor, Vault Tracker, InnerVault, QuickSnap, QSnap, Recovery Director, CommServe, CommCell, SnapProtect, ROMS, and CommValue, are trademarks or registered trademarks of Commvault Systems, Inc. All other third party brands, products, service names, trademarks, or registered service marks are the property of and used to identify the products or services of their respective owners. All specifications are subject to change without notice.
Close
Copyright © 2019 Commvault | All Rights Reserved. | Legal | Privacy Policy