Dates Part II

Last post 02-20-2015, 1:24 PM by Chris. 5 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Dates Part II
    Posted: 02-17-2015, 1:47 PM

Im new to workflows, so maybe I missed something obvious.

Anyways, I have a restore I want to run from the latest full backup.  Is there an option for this, or do I need to find the exact calendar date?

The goal is to use the scheduled full backups and use workflows and/or qoperations to automate the restore.

Thanks

• Re: Dates Part II
    Posted: 02-17-2015, 7:25 PM

Hi,

Is this for file system agent? are you trying to sync the data to another machine?

Posted: 02-18-2015, 12:45 PM

I have multiple VMs that I need to send to a 3rd party.  I am using the following process:

1. Backup the VMs using VSA
    2. Restore the VMs as .VMDK files to my proxy
    3. Backup the .VMDKs as a file system backup
    4. Restore the .VMDKs to the 3rd party client

The VSA agent is already scheduled using the normal scheduling process for subclients.  Steps 2..4 I am trying to automate using qoperations or workflow.

Looking at the original "Dates" thread, it appears I can script to find a specific date.  It would be helpful to just grab the latest full backup for a specific subclient.

Thanks

Posted: 02-20-2015, 12:14 PM

Chris

You can create one CommServDbquery type control and execute this sql script which will return you the last full job ID and start and end time of the job for the given subclient and you can perform restore using the xml I pasted below use qlist command

--Variables
    declare @subclientId nvarchar(256)
    declare @backupSetId nvarchar(256)
    declare @instanceId nvarchar(256)
    declare @clientId nvarchar(256)

DECLARE @client varchar(512)
    SET @client = 'vCenter client'
    DECLARE @appTypeId varchar(256)
    SET @appTypeId = '106'
    DECLARE @instance varchar(512)
    SET @instance = 'VMware'
    DECLARE @SCName varchar(512)
    SET @SCName = 'subClient'

set nocount on