howto migrate from FileArchiver to OnePass (NAS Agent)

Last post 02-08-2017, 9:39 AM by johanningk. 2 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • howto migrate from FileArchiver to OnePass (NAS Agent)
    Posted: 01-20-2017, 6:21 AM

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the archiving stuff and have an environment coming from V9 to actually V10SP11.

In V9 FileArchiver on Windows Server were used to Archive NAS Shares (on a NetApp FAS).

Now in the middle of V10 CV introduced OnePass also for NAS and marks the classical Archiver as deprecated.

My question is regarding to the old, already archived stuff after I introduce the new NAS OnePass configuration.
    Will this data still be accessible after "migrating" the Agent ? Or do I need to keep the old archiver for retrieval ?

currently there are two Windows Server available for Restore, while only one is doing the archiving job.
    If I introduce new clients to be used as "proxy" for the CiFS Shares, can they also be used for the retrieval of the former archived stuff ?

What changes are nessecary in the FPolicy to enable future archive / restore functionality ?

best regards
    Klaus 

• Re: howto migrate from FileArchiver to OnePass (NAS Agent)
    Posted: 02-06-2017, 9:40 PM

This BOL Link should assist you in transition from Classic Archiver to OnePass. 

Transitioning from Traditional Archiver to Simpana OnePass Agent

Note In this documentation Section:

Once the archiving has been disabled, do not delete the archive set / agent. This will allow for the recovery of archived data. Do not delete the Storage Policy associated with the Archiver subclient as the Stub Recall and Browse and Restore operations will be still using the data from this Storage Policy.

Hope you are not using NetApp C-mode, if you do then I would suggest a call-in.

Raj A
  • Re: howto migrate from FileArchiver to OnePass (NAS Agent)
    Posted: 02-08-2017, 9:39 AM

Thanx RAJ,

my setup is 7-mode, so I'm probably fine.