CommCell User Groups & Active Directory Integration

Last post 03-27-2017, 4:50 PM by Travis.mcm. 2 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • CommCell User Groups & Active Directory Integration
    Posted: 03-17-2017, 11:41 AM

I am fairly new to working with Commvault and was tasked with setting up various admin groups for our Commvault system. Everything is making sense except for one thing so far. There is a group under "Security -> CommCell User Groups" that has an Active Directory group listed in the Associated Members portion of the Members tab in the properties.

Going to "Security -> Domans and Organizations" and going to External Groups I can see where the Active Directory object has been added to Commvault. When I look at the properties of the Active Directory object there, it has a User Groups tab and is associated to the CommCell User Groups object I mentioned already. However, when I create a new Active Directory group, add it to the External Groups and go into properties, I only get General, Associated Entities and Additional Settings tabs.

How can I make it to where this Active Directory object is able to be added as a member like the group that already exists? I could not find information in the documentation I have looked at. We are running Commvault Version 11.

• Re: CommCell User Groups & Active Directory Integration
    Posted: 03-23-2017, 10:50 PM

You use the "Associated Entities" tab to map user groups to the capabilities they will have in Commvault. This part of the security model changed between version 10 and 11. On the associated users tab, you can select an existing role to include so you don't have to define the associated entities manually for each user group.

• Re: CommCell User Groups & Active Directory Integration
    Posted: 03-27-2017, 4:50 PM