Commvault Customer User Groups

Last post 09-14-2018, 1:33 PM by pereirath. 1 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Commvault Customer User Groups
    Posted: 06-18-2018, 2:27 PM

Hi!  

I'm a TSM/Spectrum Protect expert going back over 20 years.   I am in the midst of transitioning our company over to Commvault.   

Commvault is incredible software, but the documentation is very weak.  Whatever their other weaknesses might be, IBM has the best product documentation in the field.   By contrast, the information at documentation.commvault.com is more like an application API reference than an operational administrator's guide. 

I know a new CEO is likely to be hired soon.    Perhaps this is a good time to roll out Commvault Customer User Groups and a fully functional Commvault User Online Community, where Commvault users can provide fleshed out examples of deploying the hundreds of various product features.   Blog and video formats would be appropriate here, I think.  

As an example, we recently setup backups of Hadoop clusters at my company.   This makes us one of the few companies in the WORLD protecting Hadoop in this manner.   Would people find a walk-through of that kind of setup useful?   How about Commvault Edge?   When you look at Druva or Code 42 they have elegant video examples, and deep documentation repositories available to everyday users.   Couldn't some customers give Commvault Edge similar treatment?   

Thanks!

• Re: Commvault Customer User Groups
    Posted: 09-14-2018, 1:33 PM

It doesnt seem like lot of people inside CV look at forums but I agree with you, documentation and resources could be better.