Need help to understand why Extended Retention isn't working

Last post 07-13-2018, 5:16 AM by Ola Lawal. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Need help to understand why Extended Retention isn't working
    Posted: 07-10-2018, 2:26 AM

Hi I need some assisting to understand how actually extended retention works. I've inherit the backups from a previous backup admin which has left the company. As an Oracle DBA I myself don't work with Commvault that much thus I'm trying to understand how everything works slowly.

I need help in understanding the extended retention which the previous admin configure as I do not see any backups being retain according to the stipulated value.

Below is the properties for the storage policy which we use. However when I check the backup history for my client machine, I only saw 30days of backups shown.

Would highly appreciate if someone could shed some light into this as I'm very confuse now.

• Re: Need help to understand why Extended Retention isn't working
    Posted: 07-10-2018, 5:56 AM

Hi,

Extended retention rules allow you to keep specific full (or synthetic full) backups for an additional period of time.

Extended retention rules allow you to define three additional "extended" retention periods for full (or synthetic full) backups. For example:

• You may want to retain your weekly full backups for 30 days.
    • You may want to retain your monthly full backup for 90 days.
    • You may want to retain your yearly full backup for 365 days.

A backup job will be selected for extended retention based on its start time. For example: If a backup job starts at 11:55 pm on August 31st and ends at 1 am on September 1st, then it will be selected as the last full backup for the month of August and will be picked up for extended retention.