Mark Drives - Workflow

Last post 01-25-2019, 9:55 AM by JohnSW. 4 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mark Drives - Workflow
    Posted: 01-03-2019, 8:23 AM

Hi - Happy New Year. This is my first post Here.

We have a weekly task to reset counters on our Tape drives. Each Drive needs to have Mark Drive Replaced, Mark Drive Cleaned and Mark Drive Fixed completed. We have 30 Drives, so this is repetitive and time consuming. I am fairly new to Commvault and completely new to workflows, but it seems ot me that this would be a good thing to automate using workflows. 

As I understand it, once I know how to do the first action, i.e, select a drive and run "Mark Drive Replaced" then duplicating it and setting it up for all the drives should be fairly straightforward.  However, I don't really know where to start. 

Please can someone advise? I have read through the documentation on workflows, so its just a matter of taking the plunge! 

Is it possible to create a workflow that only I can see, so that I can work on it and get it working before publishing/scheduling it?

Many Thnaks

John 

• Re: Mark Drives - Workflow
    Posted: 01-03-2019, 12:50 PM

Hi John,

Happy New Year !

are you cleaning the drives manually or something outside of CV?

if you are scheduling in CV then the counters will be reset automatically and will help with manually resetting.

https://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11/article?p=10111.htm

Scheduling Drive Cleaning Operations