New to CommVault/Training

Last post 06-05-2019, 2:56 AM by Anthony.Hodges. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • New to CommVault/Training
    Posted: 05-20-2019, 6:16 PM

Hello,

Apologies if this is the wrong forum for this question. I am completely new to CommVault, and was tasked with being the administrator for our organizations CommVault system. I am just trying to find out if there are any training resources out there that I can utilize so I can figure out my way around the system and be able to ensure backups are being done.

I can usually figure things out pretty fast just browsing around, but everything seems so complex with this system. 

• Re: New to CommVault/Training
    Posted: 05-20-2019, 6:26 PM

Hello,

Get on Traning ASAP. There is alot that needs to be looked into and maintained :

https://ea.commvault.com/

Things to look at immediately.

1. Licence usage

2. Access to https://ma.commvault.com/

3. DDB and Index V2 Backups are running

4. Hotfix and Service Pack you are on supported (Support only goes back 5 Service Packs)

5. How much space is left on your Maglibs

6. What agent types you  have configured etc

7. What your Gobal filters are doing

8. Do the number of hosts in your environment line up with the number of clients you backup

9. What are your schedules doing. Are servers backing up each night etc

Hayden

Posted: 06-03-2019, 10:15 AM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 09-19-2019, 11:14 AM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,707

Start poking around in the documentation and pay attention to the results of the daily job summary reports that should be scheduled to get an idea of the day to day. 

http://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11/article?p=d\ocumentation.htm

Your account rep should be able to help you get scheduled for training. 

Posted: 06-05-2019, 2:56 AM