The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status

Last post 08-23-2019, 4:17 PM by Narender. 10 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 3:56 PM

    Two months ago, I upgraded my CommServe, three media agents, and 80+ clients to 11 SP14 HPK27. The CommServe Software Cache directory is specified at: C:\Program Files\CommVault\Simpana\SoftwareCache with Download and Sync options.

    Currently for the Update Status of my Commserve, it shows Needs Updates and it lists various SP14 (HPK34) files which is the one listed for available for automatic download.

    However, for both my media agents and clients, it shows Ahead of Cache with its current Hotfix Pack:SP14  27(13June). But I'm certain that since there must be some updates available since then.

    The Version update Information settings for the media agents and clients show:

    Cache Source: CommServe

    Store Software Locally: C\Program Files\Commvault\ContentStore

    what are settings that I need to ensure so that the media agents and clients show Needs Update or at least Up To Date instead of Ahead of Cache after several Hotfix Packs releases?

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 4:02 PM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 09-19-2019, 11:14 AM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,707

    Example scenario:

    If the CommServe\Media Agents\Clients were all running SP15 and the cache had SP15 downloaded, everything will say up to date. 

    Now if you download SP16 to the cache, only the CS will say needs updates (SP16). The MediaAgents and Clients will still show up to date at SP15.

    Once the CS has SP16 installed, then the MA\Clients will show needs updates for SP16.

     

    It sounds like in your situation, the updates were installed outside of what's in the cache, which is what the version tab references. You can download the latest SP HF combination through the GUI and that's what the machines will look to for the update comparison status. 

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 4:19 PM

    In the current situation, I upgraded the CommServe, Media Agents, and Clients on the same day to Product Version 11 SP14 HPK27 and that's the current version so far for all three components.

    However, only CommServe shows Needs Update while media agents and clients show Ahead of Cache, even though the media agents and clients should not be "ahead" but rather, the same.

    Are you suggesting that if I Download and Sync Cache Options for: Latest Hotfixes for Service Pack: SP14, then the Media Agents and Clients will then see: Needs Update?

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 4:19 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 09-13-2019, 10:59 AM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Master
    • Points 1,678

    Check the updates installed on those media agents...   Have any updates been installed locally (not pushed from the commserver)?  That will cause the condition you are seeing.  Has any one installed any updates locally on these servers?  Look at the properties of the mediaagents and check the version information.  You should potentially see what updates might be installed that are not located in the CS cache.


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Senior Engineer III
    Development
  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 4:45 PM

    On the day of the installation for all three components, I did a Download Software to SP14 HPK27, then individually upgraded the CommServe, then Media Agents, and finally Clients. 

    The Properties -> Version of the Media Agents simply show:

     

    Install Directory: C:\Program Files\Commvault\ContentStore  (same as the Update Information Store Software Locally settings)

    Version: 11

    ServicePack: 14

    Hotfix Pack: 27(13Jun)

     

    And the Update Status shows: Ahead of Cache, along with all the Package lists.

     

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 4:50 PM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 09-19-2019, 11:14 AM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,707

    What is the cache showing as under add\remove software: SC Configuration - Cache Details

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 5:32 PM

    Cache Details show:

    Updates for Release: 11

    Windows SP14 34(25Jul)

    WinX64 SP14 34(25Jul)

    linux-x8664 SP14 34(25Jul)

     

    So it looks like the (Available for automatic download) for Hotfix Packs for Service Pack 14 is working properly. However, the automatic download is only reflected in the CommServe, but not in the Media Agents or Clients.

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 5:38 PM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 09-19-2019, 11:14 AM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,707

    That is expected. Until the HF34 is installed on the CS, the cache will not update for the MA\Clients. They can only go as high as what is installed on teh CS, not what can be potentially installed. The idea being the MA and Clients can't go to a higher level then the CS, unless they're installed manually. 

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 5:43 PM

    Okay, thanks for the explanation. So to begin with, only CommServe will show required updates. And only after those updates are actually installed on the CommServe will the required updates be reflected on the media agents and clients as well.

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-22-2019, 5:52 PM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 09-19-2019, 11:14 AM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,707

    The clients and media agents should be looking at what's installed on the commserve for thier status reference point so i'm not sure why they are 'ahead of cache'. As long as those updates aren't actually higher then what's installed on the CS it's no big deal. Next time you push updates through the GUI it should sync up correctly. 

  • Re: The issue of "Ahead of Cache" status on Media Agents and Clients Update Status
    Posted: 08-23-2019, 4:17 PM

    If the cache does not have the HPK installed on the clients, the status for clients will show 'Ahead of the Cache'. If HPK 27 was also in the cache, only CommServe client will show 'Needs Update' and all clients will show 'Up to date'.

    In this particular case, we have only HPK34 is available in the cache. So CommServe client is showing 'Needs update' and other clients are showing 'Ahead of cache'. Once HPK 34 is installed on the CommServe, all clients show 'Needs update'. 

    The status is combination of what is available in Cache and what is the installed on the CommServe client.

     

    Thanks,

    Narender

The content of the forums, threads and posts reflects the thoughts and opinions of each author, and does not represent the thoughts, opinions, plans or strategies of Commvault Systems, Inc. ("Commvault") and Commvault undertakes no obligation to update, correct or modify any statements made in this forum. Any and all third party links, statements, comments, or feedback posted to, or otherwise provided by this forum, thread or post are not affiliated with, nor endorsed by, Commvault.
Commvault, Commvault and logo, the “CV” logo, Commvault Systems, Solving Forward, SIM, Singular Information Management, Simpana, Commvault Galaxy, Unified Data Management, QiNetix, Quick Recovery, QR, CommNet, GridStor, Vault Tracker, InnerVault, QuickSnap, QSnap, Recovery Director, CommServe, CommCell, SnapProtect, ROMS, and CommValue, are trademarks or registered trademarks of Commvault Systems, Inc. All other third party brands, products, service names, trademarks, or registered service marks are the property of and used to identify the products or services of their respective owners. All specifications are subject to change without notice.
Close
Copyright © 2019 Commvault | All Rights Reserved. | Legal | Privacy Policy