AWS EC2 recovery solution

Last post 09-16-2019, 4:37 PM by Anthony.Hodges. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • AWS EC2 recovery solution
    Posted: 09-16-2019, 2:51 AM
    I am new to Commvault. Recently setup a single Commserve host at our data center which is backing up our NDMP SAN (network files) to AWS S3 bucket. Media agent is installed on this Commserve too. How do i provision Commvault to handle an outage at our data center? In other words, if we are completely cut off from our data center for several hours or more I would like to start file restore operations from S3 to an EC2 volume or other storage mechanism (FSX) in our AWS VPC so key users can work in our VPC during the outage. Does this mean I should provision another Commserve host in our VPC ? Is this the Commserve LiveSync option? Will that include a copy of the media agent too so I can quickly start restoring? The help documentation appears to treat Commserve and media agent recovery separately. Where is the index of the million plus files I have backed up in S3 stored? Hope my question makes sense. Thanks in advance. Peter
  • Re: AWS EC2 recovery solution
    Posted: 09-16-2019, 3:41 AM

Believe it or not, you're right on the money with everything you've written.

CommServe LiveSync provides test/maintenance/production cutover functionality, and is typically run ever 15 minutes.  There can be multiple passive CommServes, and you could put in AWS if you want.