Im a beginner ... Volume Pools??

Last post 01-28-2020, 10:01 PM by Anthony.Hodges. 5 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Im a beginner ... Volume Pools??
    Posted: 01-28-2020, 12:00 PM

Hello All

Im a novice commvault user.  Trying to set up an environment in commvault and Im wondering about Media Tapes and how to segregate them from the different backup policies.  Another words in the netbackup world in which Im familiar with there was the Volume Pools area.  So when creating a backup policy in netbackup you selected what volume pool you wanted this backup / media tapes associated with.   Therefore once a backup had started it pulls from scratch pool and is assigned to this volume pool and therefore no other backup policies can write to this tape uness part of the same volume pool or the media had expired which then would be put back in scratch pool..

How do we do this in Commvault...??  Probably right in front of my eyes but havent stumbled on it just yet.

Any links or quick answers would be appreciated..

Thanks 

• Re: Im a beginner ... Volume Pools??
    Posted: 01-28-2020, 12:32 PM

In your Commvault Console, go to Storage Resources and located Libraries. You will have to add your libraries (Tape, S3 etc.)

https://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11/article?p=9636.htm 

Posted: 01-28-2020, 12:59 PM

Thanks for the link... https://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11/article?p=9636.htm

Yes I added our library..