MongoDB??

Last post 02-18-2020, 3:05 PM by Brian. 6 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • MongoDB??
    Posted: 02-13-2020, 12:44 PM

Still trying to figure out commvault environment as im a newbie

I noticed on our commserve our C drive is losing space and I see that this file "InstallMongoDB" (txt document) is growing.   What is this file and how do I stop it from growing..

We only have a few clients in our environment so far and they are not Big Data Apps clients.. . I see that mongoDB was in stallled but Im guessing probably was installed with the commvault software...  Do I really need this installed?..  Does this MongoDB server another purpose for commvault bkups??  

Im mainly trying to stop this file "C:\Program Files\Commvault\ContentStore\Log Files\InstallMongoDB.txt" from eating our space...  

The file is to big to even open to see what it is....

Thanks

• Re: MongoDB??
    Posted: 02-13-2020, 3:22 PM

Hi Brian,

To understand why we use MongoDB, you would need to read this article on Commvault Connect

https://connect.commvault.com/community/development/blog/2019/10/16/commvault-mongodb-utility

To understand what is wrong with the MongoDB instance on your setup, you can follow steps to verify MongoDB configurations as laid out in the following article

https://connect.commvault.com/community/development/blog/2019/10/16/troubleshooting-customer-mongodb-issues

Based on your descriptions, it looks like its happening due to credential mismatch between what Commvault is using to connect to MongoDb and what MongoDB is actually configured with. To resolve that issue, you can follow steps given in

https://connect.commvault.com/community/development/blog/2019/11/22/resetting-mongodb-credentials-on-customerlab-setup

Posted: 02-13-2020, 5:07 PM

Thanks for the info Riyer..  How does one even register for the connect.commvault.com site..    

Posted: 02-13-2020, 5:33 PM